Fond memories of my mother and I called in “live” to TMZ live!!

5 Dec

English: Notre Dame school. 33 East Micheltore...

English: Notre Dame school. 33 East Micheltorena Street. Santa Barbara, California, USA (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Lindsay Lohan at Calvin Klein Spring 2007 Fash...

Lindsay Lohan at Calvin Klein Spring 2007 Fashion Show Afterparty. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hello my friends. I hope that you are having a wonderful day. First of all, I want to say thank you to those of you who stopped by and looked at my posting yesterday about the rain. Some of you left positive feedback and others just read what I wrote. In any event, all of us who write our daily blogs sure do appreciate comments from others. It let’s us know that you are reading what we wrote, and you either liked what you read, or something caught your interest. Thank you again.

I was watching  TMZ live at tmz.com because they don’t air it on TV until 4pm California time. They did an interview with Brian Littrell of The Backstreet Boys, remember him? They wanted to know if he was praying for Lindsay Lohan. Now for those of you that don’t know it, Brian is a born-again Christian. Brian was honest and said no, Lindsay is not in my nightly prayers. Well that sparked something in me. I picked up the phone thinking that I probably would not get through. Imagine my surprise when they took my call. I told them that as a fellow Christian, I wanted to give them my two cents on praying for Lindsey. Now, if you want to know what I told them, or if you are curious to know what my voice sounds like, you can either watch it today if it will air on TV in your time zone, OR… you can go to http://www.TMZ.com and click on the past programs window. Now since today’s show will be recorded, this won’t be available until tomorrow. I don’t know if this is a first or not, but you will actually get to hear a WordPress

Backstreet Boys Live @ Arena Movistar Santiago...

Backstreet Boys Live @ Arena Movistar Santiago, Chile. 2009-03-01 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

bloggers voice on TV! Anyway, I had a good time and the producer of the show was very nice to me while I was on hold. I am at the very end of the hour so you will have to watch most of it to get to “Mike from Ventura”, that’s me!

Now, to get to what I really wanted to talk about today. As I was writing my piece yesterday, when I got to the part where the rain reminded me of my mother, it brought back some great memories. Like I said before, since my mom passed away in 2002, all that I have is some great memories of her. For instance, I remember even to this day, the first day that she took me to kindergarten class. When I was five, she and I would go hand in hand and take a walk onto State Street in Santa Barbara, California, where I was born and raised. State Street is the main drag as they say. You can go through the entire town just by  going up and down that street. So my mother and I made this trip about twice a week. She just to tell me something funny. She had just divorced my Dad and she would say, “If we see a nice looking man and he asks, then  your my nephew, but if he is ugly, then your my son!” It didn’t make much sense to a five-year old boy, but today, I can see the humor that this woman had even as a small child. One day, she said come on Michael, (she rarely called me Mike which I prefer), we are going for a walk. Well, about halfway to State Street, I saw this white building with windows. It was called Lincoln Elementary (for those of you who went there in the 1960’s.) We went down some stairs, and opened a door. There were all these boys and girls sitting on a rug. I didn’t know that this was a classroom, since I had never been to school. She had me sit down while the teacher read a book. You can imagine what happened next. She left, and I cried my eyes out! I thought that she had abandoned me to this strange and unfamiliar  environment. I didn’t know who the teacher was let alone all these strange kids. Well, I made it through the day, and she did come back to get me. I often wondered why she just didn’t tell me where we were going. I think that she thought I wouldn’t be able to handle it if she had just told me where we were going, or that I probably would have locked myself in my room and refused to go. In any event, she did what she thought was best, and eventually I accepted my situation. It’s funny but that’s the only thing that I remember about being five years old. They say that if something traumatic happens in your life especially at a young age, it makes a lasting impression. Well, this sure did!  That’s just one of many stories that I can tell you about my mother. She was an awesome woman who raised six kids all on her own. I was the middle child. I have two older brothers, an older sister, a younger sister, and two younger brothers. We were poor, but happy. Sometimes there was nothing but bread and butter to eat, but we always ate something, Mom made sure of this. I remember that sometimes she would feed us and I would see her sitting alone in the living room. When I asked her where her dinner was, she would tell me that she had eaten earlier. I knew that she was lying because we barely had enough food for dinner! She actually went without just to make sure her kids ate something. Even then, she was teaching me how to be a parent. Thanks for the great memories mom, and for taking care of all of us. We miss you!

Leave a Reply

Horror Novel Reviews

Honesty in the Terror

The Behrg Writes ...

on Life, Books, Writing + Madness

GEORGE PERRIS | Official Website

Welcome to George's official site!

Stephen King Revisited

Essays, memories, and even a little history...

Something Stirs

Words by Kealan Patrick Burke

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

John Jr's Blog 🕵🏾

Dreams And Miscellaneous

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

My Shutter Priority

Captured moments and everything in between.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

山康摄影

chi khong photography

Brian James Freeman

Writing, Editing, Reading, and Publishing

