What I like about the rain

4 Dec

English: Nylex rain gauge 1000 which hold 250m...

English: Nylex rain gauge 1000 which hold 250mm of rain in 1mm increments. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Rain

Rain (Photo credit: Moyan_Brenn)

 

Hello faithful readers! Sorry that I haven’t written in a while. I’ve been busy writing  some short stories  and keeping a close eye on my health. Not that I haven’t thought about this blog. I think about it everyday. Today, I thought I’d write about the rain. Believe it or not, some people don’t like the rain. They may find it to be  an inconvenience, or maybe the fact that it make the road slick and dangerous, or the fact that is depressing to some. Personally, I enjoy the rain. As I write this, I am looking outside my bedroom window. The sky is gray, overcast, but light, not dark. It is raining, but not hard. If you keep up with the news, you may have seen where Northern California has been deluged with inches of rain. Southern California got its fair share of this downpour, but nowhere near what they are going through to the North of me. It rained steady and hard last weekend.  As I laid in bed listening to the constant downpour, it was almost hypnotizing. Personally, I like listening to the rain. It actually relaxes me, and allows me to concentrate on it, and not the constant pain in my body, so it actually helps me. Besides, there are so many benefits from rain. You all know them. The air is cleaner after it rains, the fact that the ground soaks up the water, and the trees, and plants  around my apartment complex just soak it up like a sponge. When I stop to think about it, we didn’t get much rain this year. So, I am glad to see the water. Like I said before, to others they find it something that they can do without. When I was working years ago, I used to tell my co-workers (I had a desk job) today is a good day for rain,  unless you have to work outside! I used to feel sorry for anyone who drove for a living , and those who couldn’t avoid working outside in the rain. Now for those people, I can understand the rain being a nuisance. So the rain has come, and will soon leave. For now, I am going to enjoy watching those tiny drops of water fall from the sky. When I was little, my mom would look out the window, and upon seeing the rain, she would turn and tell me, “God’s crying for someone today. Look at all his tear drops!” I miss my mom. She passed away in 2002, but just thinking about all the memories we had together brings a smile to my face. So today if it is raining where you are at I hope you get to enjoy some of God’s tear drops! Take care of yourself.

 

 

3 Responses to “What I like about the rain”

  1. rommel December 4, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    I hate the gloom rain weather makes. But yeah, rain is a blessing. We, in California, didn’t have it for a looong while. It’s good to know that rain comes to water our trees. 😀

  2. Mike Limon December 4, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

    Hi Rommel. Thanks for your comment and agreeing with me about the rain. Yes, I forgot about the good ole trees needing rain! Take care buddy.

  3. Gunslinger Poet December 5, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    Your post about the rain and your mother resonated with me. Hearing the rainfall is indeed a peaceful renewal.

Leave a Reply

Horror Novel Reviews

Honesty in the Terror

The Behrg Writes ...

on Life, Books, Writing + Madness

GEORGE PERRIS | Official Website

Welcome to George's official site!

Stephen King Revisited

Essays, memories, and even a little history...

Something Stirs

Words by Kealan Patrick Burke

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

John Jr's Blog

Dreams And Miscellaneous Posts

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

My Shutter Priority

Captured moments and everything in between.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

山康摄影

chi khong photography

Brian James Freeman

Writing, Editing, Reading, and Publishing

