To Facebook or not Facebook poll

17 Sep

Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...

Image via CrunchBase

Facebook logo

Facebook logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Mark Zuckerberg, founder and CEO of Facebook

Mark Zuckerberg, founder and CEO of Facebook (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Okay faithful readers. I need your advice. I am considering joining Facebook. I have heard many good things about it, and some not so great. I would appreciate any comments you have on whether you joined, and what prompted you to join. OR, if you don’t plan to join, I would like to hear your reasons for not joining. Thank you for helping me to make my decision.

8 Responses to “To Facebook or not Facebook poll”

  1. Zack Hunter September 17, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    I am one of the people that absolutely refuse to use facebook. Why? Because they are run by the C.I.A. and make billions of dollars every month selling all of their data to the highest bidder to basically anyone who wants it. They work hand in hand with the federal and local governments and police agencies. “Well I am not doing anything illegal.” Most people say to me when I bring this up- and this is one of the main problems. While people chat away and play their little games on their user friendly interface they are slowly destroying every ounce of freedom left in this country and no one seems to care. Just out of principle, and ethics, I absolutely refuse to partake in this insanity.

    “But all my friends are on it.”

    What a brilliant scam!

    • mikelimon September 17, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

      Hi Zack. I see your point. I’ve heard that when our Congress (you know the Senators and House members who are supposed to be working for us, and not themselves) voted in Obamacare (big mistake) that if you go and read the supposed health care plan, we lost a lot of our freedom under the first and fourth amendments! And that came from a lawyer who tried to warn others to call your Congress members, and urge them not to pass it). I read it, and we did. The lawyer was right on! I will be careful in making my decision. Thanks for you input, I appreciate it Zack!
      Mike

  2. goodjohnjr September 20, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    I do not recommend Fakebook (Facebook) unless you need it or want to use it or want to try it, there are some good things about Fakebook and of course there are some bad things about Fakebook (which could be said about almost anything), but the four times or so that I tried Fakebook; its purpose, social networking, was made worthless/useless/et cetera when pretty much no one on my friends list (family, friends, former classmates, former co-workers, et cetera) seemed to really care about/acknowledge/like/comment/read/watch/et cetera almost anything that I shared/posted and they would not really communicate with me beyond the first time they accepted my friend invites or sent me a friend invite.

    I have that problem with pretty much every online service that I use and in real life with them but since that is the purpose of Fakebook, that is a huge problem.

    I would like, comment, and communicate with them on their Fakebook pages/profiles, but they ignored mine/me mostly; and so what is the point of using Fakebook for social networking when your friends do not care, and then there are the bad things about Fakebook that you have to worry about.

    Some people do not have that problem and so Fakebook is worth using for them and maybe for you, but for me personally it is not worth using for me as an individual; but people should try it and decide for themselves, so I say give it a try but try not to share much/if any personal information. πŸ˜‰

    Some good things about Fakebook:

    Lots of people use it & so it is easy to find people you know, you can integrate popular services with it, you can use your Fakebook account to like & comment on a variety of websites, it is available on many mobile devices, you can store/share videos & images, Fakebook has an email service integrated into now, et cetera.

    Some bad things about Fakebook:

    Privacy and security concerns, Fakebook changes & can change their privacy policy/terms whenever they want, Fakebook is targeted for information gathering probably by companies/police/intelligence agencies/governments/militaries/people looking to harm you and/or your property/et cetera, finding all the settings/options can be a bit harder than it should be, features change more often than many online services which can make things a bit more confusing sometimes, malware creators & hackers target Fakebook users, et cetera.

  3. mikelimon September 21, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

    Hi John. Yes, it would seem the more and more that I find out about it, I dislike it. In all reality, I’m probably going to steer clear from it. Afterall, I’m doing fine without it, and I’m make new friends with my wordpress blog alone! Thanks for you input. I appreciate it.
    Mike

    • goodjohnjr September 22, 2012 at 8:23 am #

      You are welcome Mike, and good luck with whatever you decide to try/do. πŸ˜‰

  4. FLYNN October 30, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    Avoid Facebook, not unless you want a free “memorial” online forever…

    • goodjohnjr November 1, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      A Free Memorial, hahaha, good one Flynn. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰

    • Mike Limon November 1, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

      Hi Flynn! Great advice! Thank you.

      Mike

Leave a Reply

Horror Novel Reviews

Honesty in the Terror

The Behrg Writes ...

on Life, Books, Writing + Madness

GEORGE PERRIS | Official Website

Welcome to George's official site!

Stephen King Revisited

Essays, memories, and even a little history...

Something Stirs

Words by Kealan Patrick Burke

The Better Man Project β„’

a journey into the depths

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

John Jr's Blog

Dreams And Miscellaneous

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

My Shutter Priority

Captured moments and everything in between.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

ε±±εΊ·ζ‘„ε½±

chi khong photography

Brian James Freeman

Writing, Editing, Reading, and Publishing

